Managing Ghost admin settings

There are a couple of things to do next while you're getting set up: making your site private and inviting your team.

Managing Ghost admin settings
Every now and then, I make the site private whenever I'm testing a new feature or theme.

Make your site private.

If you have a publication that you don't want the world to see yet because it's not ready to launch, you can hide your Ghost site behind a basic shared passphrase.

You can toggle this preference on at the bottom of Ghost's General Settings:

Ghost will give you a short, randomly generated pass-phrase that you can share with anyone who needs access to the site while you're working on it. While this setting is enabled, all search engine optimization features will be switched off to help keep your site under the radar.

Do remember, though, that this is not secure authentication. It would be best not to rely on this feature to protect important private data. It's just a simple, shared passphrase for some fundamental privacy.

Invite your team

Ghost has several different user roles for your team:

Contributors
This is the base user level in Ghost. Contributors can create and edit their draft posts, but they cannot edit drafts of others or publish posts. Contributors are untrusted users with the most basic access to your publication.

Authors
Authors are the 2nd user level in Ghost. Authors can write, edit, and publish their posts. Authors are trusted users. If you don't trust users to be allowed to publish their posts, they should be set as Contributors.

Editors
Editors are the 3rd user level in Ghost. Editors can do everything an Author can do, but they can also edit and publish the posts of others - as well as their own. Editors can also invite new Contributors & Authors to the site.

Administrators
The top user level in Ghost is Administrator. Again, administrators can do everything Authors and Editors can, but they can also edit all site settings and data, not just content. Additionally, administrators can invite, manage, or remove any other site user.

The Owner
There is only ever one owner of a Ghost site. The owner is a particular user with all the same permissions as an Administrator but with two exceptions: The Owner can never be deleted. In some circumstances, the owner can access additional unique settings if applicable. For example, billing details if using Ghost(Pro).

It's a good idea to ask all of your users to fill out their user profiles, including bio and social links. These will populate rich structured data for posts and generally create more opportunities for themes to fully populate their design.

Next: Organising content

Find out how to organize your content with sensible tags and authors or create custom structures using dynamic routing for more advanced configurations.